Automatic transmission issue

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
Post Reply
Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mr B »

Hi everyone,

So I have a ford C3 auto transmission fitted behind an Essex V6, the issue is if I drive forward quickly and stop reasonably sharply she won't move even though she is still in drive, but around 10 - 15 seconds later the gear will engage and off she goes, at first I thought low fluid level but the level is actually a bit above full - according to the dipstick.

Any ideas guys?

Have a great Christmas everyone

Wayne
If an honest man is wrong and after demonstrating that he is wrong he either stops being wrong or stops being honest
Mc Tool
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 8:34 pm
Car(s): 1980 mk3 capri 2l ohc T9 , Toyota Blade Master 3.5l V6, Paso , 850T,rd400, 900ss
Location: Invercargill New Zealand

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mc Tool »

Has it been well serviced ? Sounds like the valve body is sticking . Im picking as you grive forward it hits second gear , maybe as you lift off , and when the car stops the thing takes its time dropping back into 1st , if your lucky it may be a sticking governer . Try googling C3 trans issues .
Sometimes I talk to myself ... and we both have a good laugh
User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 2101
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, daily runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto, now also a runaround project
1980 3.0S, crash damage resto
1993 Fiesta 1.1

Currently full up and no more space but I still want a 2.8...
Location: High Wycombe/Aylesbury

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by D366Y »

I've had issues before with the fluid being above max, but also when was it last serviced etc?

I changed the filter in mine and that made a great difference
A wise man once said... "you can never have too many capris - buy another" :beer:
It's me, I'm the wise man.
Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mr B »

Many thanks for the replies guys, if i didn't know any better I would say it's low fluid level, in the past when I have let an engine oil level get to low (my bad) when I either stopped sharply or went round a bend a bit quickly I could see the oil pressure reading on the gauge drop quite rapidly before coming back up again.

I know the dipstick is reading over full on the auto box but something just ain't right here, I have perhaps mistakenly thought the issues I'm having are to little fluid - could it be that being slightly over filled is causing it?

Apologies for going on a bit I just don't fancy a transmission change at this time of year

Serviced last year with new filter and new ATF

MC, couldn't find to much on the Internet regarding C3 transmission apart from people saying it's a rubbish 'box

Wayne
If an honest man is wrong and after demonstrating that he is wrong he either stops being wrong or stops being honest
User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 2101
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, daily runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto, now also a runaround project
1980 3.0S, crash damage resto
1993 Fiesta 1.1

Currently full up and no more space but I still want a 2.8...
Location: High Wycombe/Aylesbury

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by D366Y »

The box is actually pretty reliable and usable to be fair! (In my opinion/experience)

When you are taking about fluid levels, it is between the notches on the dipstick? I have had problems in the past from it being overfilled above that, but yeah for me I've fixed it with a new filter, new fluid and possibly new actuator?

If you don't fancy a while change, you could either take the front or back half of the filter/oil pan off, drain a little and refit, or take out the fluid coolant pipe(s) from the rad and drain some fluid from there
A wise man once said... "you can never have too many capris - buy another" :beer:
It's me, I'm the wise man.
Lord Flasheart
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:19 pm
Car(s): 3.0 Ghia

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Lord Flasheart »

Without wishing to insult anyone here, I take it you are checking the level when the car has been out for a run to get everything up to operating temperature & with the engine running ?

Looking at the manual, it states the following;

An accurate fluid level check is best carried out after a short run to ensure the transmission fluid has reached its operating temperature.

Position the vehicle on level ground

With the engine idling, shift the selector through all positions 3 times

Move the selector to Park & wait 1 - 2 minutes

With the engine idling, withdraw the transmission dipstick, wipe it clean with a rag, replace & withdraw again & the level should be between the min & max

Dark Brown or Black coloured fluid is indicative of worn clutches or brake bands


Hope this helps
Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mr B »

Lord Flasheart wrote: Fri Dec 31, 2021 10:17 am Without wishing to insult anyone here, I take it you are checking the level when the car has been out for a run to get everything up to operating temperature & with the engine running ?

Looking at the manual, it states the following;

An accurate fluid level check is best carried out after a short run to ensure the transmission fluid has reached its operating temperature.

Position the vehicle on level ground

With the engine idling, shift the selector through all positions 3 times

Move the selector to Park & wait 1 - 2 minutes

With the engine idling, withdraw the transmission dipstick, wipe it clean with a rag, replace & withdraw again & the level should be between the min & max

Dark Brown or Black coloured fluid is indicative of worn clutches or brake bands


Hope this helps
Hi mate, I certainly won't be insulted, - I'm to old to feel insulted now lol

I'd be over the moon if you come up with something that I haven't thought of that rixes this poxy issue.

On reading your post the only Ithing I haven't done correctly is wait 1 - 2 minutes after going through all the gears 3 times to check the fluid level.

Today I siphoned out enough fluid to get the level within the marks at the bottom of the dipstick and it worked fine....until I stopped on a steepish hill and then I lost all gears for around 30 seconds, I sat there going through the gears trying to find one to bite - reverse suddenly engaged, I then quickly went into drive and off she went.....very strange, someone also said to me today "you sure it has the correct dipstick?"

I have another C3 box with dipstick in my back garden, the box currently in the car came from a MK2 Capri and it's dipstick is black, the box in the garden came from a MK3 and has an orange dipstick, I don't know whether this is significant or not?

Wayne
If an honest man is wrong and after demonstrating that he is wrong he either stops being wrong or stops being honest
Lord Flasheart
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:19 pm
Car(s): 3.0 Ghia

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Lord Flasheart »

I’m sure I have read somewhere about different coloured caps on the dipsticks, black & red & there is a difference.

Have a Google, I may be confusing it with the engine oil dipstick

If it helps, I’m sure mine is/was red on my 81 Essex with its C3 box

Have a Google
Mc Tool
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 8:34 pm
Car(s): 1980 mk3 capri 2l ohc T9 , Toyota Blade Master 3.5l V6, Paso , 850T,rd400, 900ss
Location: Invercargill New Zealand

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mc Tool »

The reason you have to have hot fluid before testing is coz when the fluid is hot it drains back into the pan quicker , so when idling the fluid is being pumped about the trans , if it was cold the level in the pan would be lower as less fluid has drained back . Some trans have a hot and cold set of notches on the dip stick . On my toyota caldina there is a good inch difference between hot and cold .
I recall reading somewhere that there is a shuttle valve or sprag clutch that can play up and chucking it into reverse gets things going again . Just interesting you say about having no gears until you hit reverse.......maybe try and set up an experiment and see if putting in reverse sorts it faster everytime. The down side of this is that if it works you'll probly need to pull bits of your trans . I was reading trouble shooting for a ZF 4hp22 trans and it sorta went off on a tangent and we got to general trouble shooting all trans's......these older trans are very similar in operation so maybe google c4 or c6 trans trouble shooting .....there may be more info available .
Sometimes I talk to myself ... and we both have a good laugh
Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mr B »

Happy New Year everyone :)

Quick update, so the fluid is now at the correct level.

MC, I tried your suggestion and sadly engaging reverse gear made no difference- the time it takes to engage any gear varies each time it plays up.

Hot or cold if you stop sharply you lose all gears for an indeterminate amount of time, I checked the dipsticks and they are indeed the same length regardless of their colour- apparently the colour difference determines the type of fluid that should be used in the box...

I can see a conversion to manual gearbox on the cards or stop braking sharply....however the issue is there and I'm worried it could leave me stranded if it gives out altogether...

Wayne
If an honest man is wrong and after demonstrating that he is wrong he either stops being wrong or stops being honest
Lord Flasheart
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:19 pm
Car(s): 3.0 Ghia

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Lord Flasheart »

The C3 is a pretty robust box in most peoples experience, sounds like its time for a recommended professional to take a look at it.

Whereabouts are you so people can recommend a local specialist in your area ?
Mc Tool
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 8:34 pm
Car(s): 1980 mk3 capri 2l ohc T9 , Toyota Blade Master 3.5l V6, Paso , 850T,rd400, 900ss
Location: Invercargill New Zealand

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mc Tool »

do you think that the sudden stops could cause something to be "floating " back and forth inside the box ......like maybe a circlip has been dislodged and a rotating bit is loose on a shaft ? Not that that helps , just been thinkin about it .
Ironic that Im changing my crapi to auto and your thinkin manual , I sure would swap my t9 & drive shaft ( needs bearings ect ) for your dodgy c3......ha ha :xd: I could meet you half way......maybe India ( they have Mc Donalds and KFC there ).
I just been doing a cam belt on my Caldina .......2 days so far and Im just starting to reassemble things . Talk about everything I touch either turning to shit or being shit before I got there . Everything I want to remove needs 4 other things taken off so I can get at it ........and some complete arsehole ( not me this time ) has replaced the waterpump 6mm bolts with phillips head screws .......with loctite but there is only 3 inches between the screw head and the inner guard. The worst part is that we didnt know when it was last done but the car has 200'000kms so I figured it needed done again .........but no, everything I eventually get off looks fine ........specially the belt . Fuck Im over cars :evil:
Sometimes I talk to myself ... and we both have a good laugh
Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Automatic transmission issue

Post by Mr B »

Mc Tool wrote: Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:22 pm do you think that the sudden stops could cause something to be "floating " back and forth inside the box ......like maybe a circlip has been dislodged and a rotating bit is loose on a shaft ? Not that that helps , just been thinkin about it .
Ironic that Im changing my crapi to auto and your thinkin manual , I sure would swap my t9 & drive shaft ( needs bearings ect ) for your dodgy c3......ha ha :xd: I could meet you half way......maybe India ( they have Mc Donalds and KFC there ).
I just been doing a cam belt on my Caldina .......2 days so far and Im just starting to reassemble things . Talk about everything I touch either turning to shit or being shit before I got there . Everything I want to remove needs 4 other things taken off so I can get at it ........and some complete arsehole ( not me this time ) has replaced the waterpump 6mm bolts with phillips head screws .......with loctite but there is only 3 inches between the screw head and the inner guard. The worst part is that we didnt know when it was last done but the car has 200'000kms so I figured it needed done again .........but no, everything I eventually get off looks fine ........specially the belt . Fuck Im over cars :evil:
Does this pic sum it up

IMG-20210702-WA0012.jpg
If an honest man is wrong and after demonstrating that he is wrong he either stops being wrong or stops being honest
Post Reply