83' 1.6LS Aka Project Arabella

Use this forum to post threads of ongoing Capri projects and restorations.
Rdowe
Car(s): Ford capri 1.6 LS

83' 1.6LS Aka Project Arabella

Post by Rdowe »

After becoming a proud owner of a Mk3 Capri back in 2013 and joining this forum I think it is about time I make a project thread so you can see what (little) progress I have actually made!

As a mechanical engineering student I was looking for a project to work and learn on. I was a bit hesitant when I saw her at first as you could straight away see that there was more body work that needed to be done than mechanics. however as soon as I got on the road my face lit up and I bought her there and then. She started off life in 1983 as a glacier blue 1.6 LS. Her history is a bit of a mystery up until around 2010 when she received some TLC body work wise, newly refurbed RS wheels and a 2.0L skimmed lump.
So this was the state of the car when I got her home

Now do you remember the "Storm" that we had a few years ago that was blown out of proportion (excuse the pun), yeah the one that blew over nothing..... apart from the wall that was next to my car.
I came home one evening to find this.

By sheer chance the car was parked in such a way that meant the second pillar landed in the wheel arch and was resting not on the body work or the rims but on the tyre... silver linings and all that.

Anyway she came off rather well with only a few scratches on the rear quarter, two small knicks to the door and a small dent in the wing (that needs replacing anyway but we will to that)

Now as I mentioned I'm currently half way through a degree and as of this moment I am on placement which means I am about 3 hours drive away from being able to work on the car hence why the project has got off to a bit of a slow start.
First I had to gut the garage and seal the floor as it was horrid and crumbly, after all that I could finally start work on her.