Capri MK1 Restomod - Sri Lanka

Use this forum to post threads of ongoing Capri projects and restorations.
Hoonigan
Car(s): capri MK1 Facelift

Post by Hoonigan »

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here...hello to all and greetings from sunny Sri Lanka :)

I would like to share with you my ongoing project - a MK1 Capri. Capris are becoming exceedingly rare in the island and is fast becoming a classic in it's own right.

I picked up this specimen from the second owner of the car. He had done some "modifications" to it, which was the first thing on my list to rip out. The car has a running 1.6 Pinto (I believe so, is it the Kent?) and a manual trans which is shot. Here are a few pics of it when I got to it.

Hoonigan

Post by Hoonigan »

The Bodykit and the fake scoop were the first on the chopping board

The engine bay

Front

All fiberglass stripped off
Hoonigan

Re: Capri MK1 Restomod - Sri Lanka

Post by Hoonigan »

The grand plan :)

V6 engine - Essex, Cologne, 2.8i or Cossie V6 with 5 speed manual 'box to match.
Front shocks, Prop shaft, Diff to be replaced with stronger units (preferably sourced from the same donor as the engine)
Bigger brakes - rotors and calipers
Larger tyres - 255 rear/205 front 16" wheels - arches to accommodate the rubber.
Ducktail spoiler
front lip
Facelift/RS spec tail lights
BMW smiley headlights
Bucket seats
reupholster the interior
Gunmetal grey metallic paint job with trim/moldings blacked out

I'm sure I missed some...
pbar
Car(s): Capri 2.0 Laser, frequent driver.

Post by pbar »

Nice car. How were those body kit panels fixed on?
Hoonigan

Post by Hoonigan »

pbar wrote:Nice car. How were those body kit panels fixed on?
Thank you :)

the bodykit was riveted on to the existing body panels and blended in with filler. accounted for some corrosion underneath.
Hoonigan

Post by Hoonigan »

Progress so far.

Bought a set of Pontiac Trans Am wheels. 16x8 with staggered offsets.