Another of Stocks engine builds..... The HEMI

Use this forum to post threads of ongoing Capri projects and restorations.
STOCK...tm
Car(s): Nothing special as a daily driver.. nothing for the weekend.... but a HEMI V8 in the garage getting some attention :)

Another of Stocks engine builds..... The HEMI

Post by STOCK...tm »

Before we start.... anybody who knows me knows Im an engine builder...... there has been plenty of threads on here with some Ive done..... Even though my last few engine builds have been pintos or the odd cologne V6 at heart Im a V8 kinda guy....... and because of that I know the HEMI V8 is the dogs bollox :cool:

This engine build is for me..... not that i have anything to fit it in......but 'hey'....who cares.... its a HEMI !

So, what did i go for.....?

Introducing the Daimler 2.5 litre V8...................... HEMI

Above is the 'ebay' photo of the engine I bought..... As seen, the carbs,dizzy and oil feed pipes are missing... but ... its worth a risk...its worth a bid!

And i won...... for a good price :applaud:

Picked up and brought home..... lets take a look,,,

As collected, inlet manifold removed..... cant really see the use for fitting twin 's.u's'.... it can go on ebay!

The sump is the right way round for the capri crossmember..... and its an ally sump :cool:
Time to remove those exhaust manifolds.......

Both inlet and exhaust manifolds came off as easy as the day they were put on!

The diameter of the exhaust ports is actually bigger than the inlets...... just how it should be..... the ports may look small...but hey, each bank of cylinders is only 1250cc !

For an engine thats probably 50 years old I was surprized how 'readable' the engine number is.....and the fact it was highlighted in white!

The important part...the HEMI heads..... and they are ally..... what more could a person want!