Setting a new mileage

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
Post Reply
ESSEXV6ESSEX
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:45 pm
Car(s): Car

Setting a new mileage

Post by ESSEXV6ESSEX » Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:30 am

Hi folks,

My speedo is damaged, I have bought a new set but want the mileage to read the same as the one I have taken out. I am looking for some advice on how best to do this I seem to remember years ago the clockers would use a pin type thing to turn the dials but it would leave the centre one sitting proud (that's the way you could tell) also I have heard you can use a drill in reverse. Anybody done this please and could give me some advice I would appreciate it.

mgentry90
Posts: 795
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:38 am
Car(s): Fiesta, laser ( under modification )
Location: essex

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by mgentry90 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:49 am

Be great to find an answer to this, so we can all lower our Milages before putting on eBay :cheese:

If you have an answer to this, PM it to the op, so it can't be Googled by W anchors and do the above

User avatar
pbar
Posts: 5971
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:29 pm
Car(s): Capri 2.0 Laser, frequent driver.
Location: North-West

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by pbar » Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:50 am

The drill method is the one I've heard most often.

User avatar
pbar
Posts: 5971
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:29 pm
Car(s): Capri 2.0 Laser, frequent driver.
Location: North-West

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by pbar » Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:30 am

mgentry90 wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:49 am
Be great to find an answer to this, so we can all lower our Milages before putting on eBay :cheese:

If you have an answer to this, PM it to the op, so it can't be Googled by W anchors and do the above
I would have thought most everyone would check a vehicles MOT history online before buying these days.

Bug
Posts: 3128
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:52 pm
Car(s): Some

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Bug » Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:55 pm

pbar wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:50 am
The drill method is the one I've heard most often.
The drill method takes ages.

There is an easier way..................allegedly :whistle:

mgentry90
Posts: 795
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:38 am
Car(s): Fiesta, laser ( under modification )
Location: essex

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by mgentry90 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:47 pm

pbar wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:30 am
mgentry90 wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:49 am
Be great to find an answer to this, so we can all lower our Milages before putting on eBay :cheese:

If you have an answer to this, PM it to the op, so it can't be Googled by W anchors and do the above
I would have thought most everyone would check a vehicles MOT history online before buying these days.

If I'm honest, in all the cars I've bought I've not once checked the mileage records. I think the most i did was check the last couple mots for advisories or failures

Paul G
Posts: 1428
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:21 pm
Car(s): MK 3 3.0S needing restoration, 2.0S, 1.6 Laser (nearly ready), Fiesta mK2 pop plus, Skoda Octavia VRS,
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Paul G » Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:21 pm

The pin method or gently pulling the tumblers apart before turning them are the best methods. Don't put a drill anywhere near the instrument - it's an old wives tale. With the pin method use a good quality pin and ffs don't let it slip and scratch the tumbler.

User avatar
Andrew 2.8i
Donator
Donator
Posts: 13070
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:38 pm
Car(s): '83 2.8 Injection (sunny days only)
'04 Toyota MR2 (owned from new)
Location: Ceredigion
Contact:

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Andrew 2.8i » Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:10 pm

Hi,
Nick performed exactly this task and documented the procedure on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=49746&p=335655&hil ... do#p335655

:goodluck:

Andrew.
Image

340truck
Donator
Donator
Posts: 3409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:00 am
Car(s): Rat - GONE
2.8 - GONE
Volvo - GONE
Now it's Zetec SE Fezzas all the way. 3 in stock 1.6, 1.4 and 1.2
1.6 Ghia is great fun and surprisingly quick. Maybe Puma 1.7 engine in the future?
Location: Haverhill Suffolk

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by 340truck » Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:22 pm

A simple examination of the way the speedo works will show that a drill in reverse will have no effect whatsoever. It's a myth. However, if you want to increase the mileage it will work (so possibly going forward past 000000 to get to your desired mileage), but you can only do it at 140mph (think about it) so it will take ages.
Image

User avatar
Major_Tom
Posts: 7342
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:21 am
Car(s): Hot 2.0S
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Major_Tom » Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:15 pm

340truck wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:22 pm
but you can only do it at 140mph (think about it)
Ive though about it and my brain hurts like it does when I play Portal. Surely.... surely just because the needle only goes to 140 doesnt mean the "drivetrain" (drill in this case) wont be able to go faster? Will the odometer still only clock up at 140mph if you're "going" 200mph? Argh.
My car isn't stupid.... it's MENTAL.

User avatar
pbar
Posts: 5971
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:29 pm
Car(s): Capri 2.0 Laser, frequent driver.
Location: North-West

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by pbar » Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:10 am

Here's a cool method (similar to drill) without having to take it apart -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwpTF8md9dM

340truck
Donator
Donator
Posts: 3409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:00 am
Car(s): Rat - GONE
2.8 - GONE
Volvo - GONE
Now it's Zetec SE Fezzas all the way. 3 in stock 1.6, 1.4 and 1.2
1.6 Ghia is great fun and surprisingly quick. Maybe Puma 1.7 engine in the future?
Location: Haverhill Suffolk

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by 340truck » Fri Mar 06, 2020 6:49 pm

Major_Tom wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:15 pm
340truck wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:22 pm
but you can only do it at 140mph (think about it)
Ive though about it and my brain hurts like it does when I play Portal. Surely.... surely just because the needle only goes to 140 doesnt mean the "drivetrain" (drill in this case) wont be able to go faster? Will the odometer still only clock up at 140mph if you're "going" 200mph? Argh.
You need to look at how the speedo works......it's not driven directly from the cable
Image

User avatar
stevemarl
Donator
Donator
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:31 pm
Car(s): Capri 1.6 laser

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by stevemarl » Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:36 pm

340truck wrote:
Fri Mar 06, 2020 6:49 pm
it's not driven directly from the cable
Whilst the speedo is magnetic the odometer is not and IS driven by the cable: it`s just literally a counter. Out of interest I just tried running it backwards and the counter will go backwards (but as you say even at 140 mph its still not viable).

(There`s a skew gear on the cable driving the shaft (going from L to R), you can just see another gear on the shaft which carries rotation to odo at the front)
Imagenarcissa name meaning
Last edited by stevemarl on Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Andrew 2.8i
Donator
Donator
Posts: 13070
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:38 pm
Car(s): '83 2.8 Injection (sunny days only)
'04 Toyota MR2 (owned from new)
Location: Ceredigion
Contact:

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Andrew 2.8i » Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:44 pm

By my calculation, it would take 10 hours to wind 1000 miles on/ off the odometer reading at a speed of 100MPH.

Andrew.
Image

User avatar
Fordoholic Nick
Donator
Donator
Posts: 4945
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:40 pm
Car(s): Ford Capri 2.0 Laser,
Ford Fiesta 1.6 TDCi
Location: Enfield, London

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Fordoholic Nick » Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:53 pm

ESSEXV6ESSEX wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:30 am
Hi folks,

My speedo is damaged, I have bought a new set but want the mileage to read the same as the one I have taken out. I am looking for some advice on how best to do this
Mate I just swapped out the complete log counter when I fitted a different speedo to keep the same mileage rather than mess about drilling it for 6months :lol:

A bit fiddly but pretty straightforward just don't lose any clips :shock:

Ahh I see Andrew kindly referred to my thread.
Andrew 2.8i wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:10 pm
Hi,
Nick performed exactly this task and documented the procedure on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=49746&p=335655&hil ... do#p335655

:goodluck:

Andrew.
I was born a Fordoholic, They'll bury me a Fordoholic...

Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Mr B » Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:25 am

Major_Tom wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:15 pm
340truck wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:22 pm
but you can only do it at 140mph (think about it)
Ive though about it and my brain hurts like it does when I play Portal. Surely.... surely just because the needle only goes to 140 doesnt mean the "drivetrain" (drill in this case) wont be able to go faster? Will the odometer still only clock up at 140mph if you're "going" 200mph? Argh.
:agree: Portal - what a superb game

Wayne

User avatar
Major_Tom
Posts: 7342
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:21 am
Car(s): Hot 2.0S
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Major_Tom » Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:32 pm

Mr B wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:25 am
Major_Tom wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:15 pm
340truck wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:22 pm
but you can only do it at 140mph (think about it)
Ive though about it and my brain hurts like it does when I play Portal. Surely.... surely just because the needle only goes to 140 doesnt mean the "drivetrain" (drill in this case) wont be able to go faster? Will the odometer still only clock up at 140mph if you're "going" 200mph? Argh.
:agree: Portal - what a superb game

Wayne
Yeah Portal 2 is good too - two player coop... twice the ARGH!
My car isn't stupid.... it's MENTAL.

Mr B
Donator
Donator
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:07 am
Car(s): Four 3 litre Capri's and 2 Mark 1 GXL's

Re: Setting a new mileage

Post by Mr B » Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:15 am

Major_Tom wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:32 pm
Mr B wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:25 am
Major_Tom wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:15 pm


Ive though about it and my brain hurts like it does when I play Portal. Surely.... surely just because the needle only goes to 140 doesnt mean the "drivetrain" (drill in this case) wont be able to go faster? Will the odometer still only clock up at 140mph if you're "going" 200mph? Argh.
:agree: Portal - what a superb game

Wayne
Yeah Portal 2 is good too - two player coop... twice the ARGH!
Yep I'll be the first to admit that Portal 2 caused more arguments between me and my other half than my car's do! :lol:

Wayne

Post Reply