Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto
On the hunt for some capri shaped V6 power....
Location: South Bucks

Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby D366Y » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:05 pm

Hey all,

So I have an after market radio hidden in my glove box to keep the original radio in place and looking the part, but for the last period of time it has had a direct wire straight to the battery with no fuse in line. So today I thought I would be slightly more sensible and do the job properly using the original wires for the old radio. The speaker wires have already been scotch-clipped together to suit the new radio input, but I only have one battery input rather than two on the original for permanent live and ignition live... When plugged straight to the permanent live, it doesn't turn on, when connected to the ignition live it does come on, but when the keys are then taken out obviously it loses all the stations that are preset.

My question is, can I safely connect the permanent live and ignition live from the original wiring and connect this with the new radio, or is this not safe?

Ta!

Also, simply from unplugging everything my aerial has decided to stop working, guessing this would be a case of just checking the relay...?

Cheers!

User avatar
Andrew 2.8i
Donator
Donator
Posts: 9936
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:38 pm
Car(s): '83 2.8 Injection (sunny days only)
'04 Toyota MR2 (owned from new)
Location: Ceredigion

Re: Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby Andrew 2.8i » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:20 pm

Hi Danny,
Have you tested the permanent live with a multimeter or test lamp to see if it is actually live? If not, you might have to trace it back to find out why not. Alternatively, it won't be a difficult job to run a new wire with an inline fuse from a permanent live on the fusebox.

Andrew.
Image

User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto
On the hunt for some capri shaped V6 power....
Location: South Bucks

Re: Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby D366Y » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:25 pm

Cheers Andrew, No I haven't tested with a multimeter, but it still powers the original radio which I was using as my measure to see if it still worked or not. When I wired that one up it came on, held stations if programmed and did what it was meant to do

My plan was to use a piggyback clip to connect both positive feeds into my new radio?

Cheers

User avatar
Peter-S
Donator
Donator
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:57 am
Car(s): 1985 Capri 2.0
1983 Capri 2.8i
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby Peter-S » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:06 pm

Has it powered the old radio since it failed to power the new one or before. Perhaps the in line fuse has gone in changing wires around. Doesn't make sense otherwise!
ImageImageImage

User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto
On the hunt for some capri shaped V6 power....
Location: South Bucks

Re: Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby D366Y » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:11 pm

Peter-S wrote:Has it powered the old radio since it failed to power the new one or before. Perhaps the in line fuse has gone in changing wires around. Doesn't make sense otherwise!

Yep!! I thought the exact same thing, checked the fuse and it's fine, and still powers the original one!

User avatar
D366Y
Donator
Donator
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:26 pm
Car(s): 1986 Laser 1.6, runaround project
1981 GL Auto 2.0, Barn-Find-Resto
On the hunt for some capri shaped V6 power....
Location: South Bucks

Re: Aftermarket stereo/standard wires

Postby D366Y » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:01 pm

Solved it! Turns out in my own ineptitude I labelled up the wires wrong so once I found the right ones and wired them in it all worked as it should


Return to “Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests