Adjusting valve clearance and identifying camshaft

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
caprikid61
Donator
Donator
Car(s): Ford Capri 20l laser getting her back after 5 years away

Adjusting valve clearance and identifying camshaft

Post by caprikid61 »

Hi Guys I am doing a oil change on my 2 litre pinto tomorrow so I thought I would also have a go at adjusting the valve clearance but I have never done it before . I have noticed a ticking sound so I thought the adjusting of the clearance might help , I have been reading other posts on here and from what I can gather its quite straight forward .

All I have to do is make sure that the lobe on the camshaft is pointing upwards on every cylinder before I start by turning the cam before I do each one , so I guess that means that I can adjust the fuel and exhaust at the same time on each cylinder ? Also I am not sure what camshaft I have fitted I was told it was a fr34 when I got the car but I thought I had better make sure.

I was going to try putting my phone down at the back of the camshaft and taking a photo to try and see whats written on the end of the camshaft , what do you all think ? Would that work ? Failing that I would have to try and source a mirror to have a look that way . Any adivce would help as I am new to all this . Many thanks in advance Alex
caprikid61
Donator
Donator

Re: Adjusting valve clearance and identifying camshaft

Post by caprikid61 »

Looks like a Kent Cam FR 32 to me does anyone know the clearence settings for that cam??Image
Mc Tool
Donator
Donator
Car(s): 1980 mk3 capri 2l ohc T9 , Toyota Blade Master 3.5l V6, Paso , 850T,rd400, 900ss

Post by Mc Tool »

I googled Kent cams , clicked product catalogue , ran down the list till I got to FR32 and there it was , in 10 thou / ex 12 thou , cold :) .