Rear wiper

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
jcanty85
Car(s): 1.6 ford capri

Rear wiper

Post by jcanty85 »

Hi all, I have a couple issues with the capri that I was hoping I could get some help with. Firstly heater isn't working which on it's own I don't necessarily mind. Secondly no dash buttons seem to be working. At first I thought it was just the rear wiper was burnt out but I ran a new power supply to it and it works fine. Then I thought it might be the push contact on the boot so I sanded them down, still no help. Basically I am wondering if there is something I have overlooked? Could these problems be related? Any help is greatly appreciated as I'm a complete novice..
stevemarl
Donator
Donator
Car(s): Capri 1.6 laser

Re: Rear wiper

Post by stevemarl »

Sorry if I`m stating the obvious, but have you checked the fuses? I think #6 is rear wiper + wash.
jcanty85

Post by jcanty85 »

Yeah I've checked them, all fine. Think I might sand down the contacts just in case as it has been standing a while but don't think it'll work.
vp-reynolds4
Donator
Donator
Car(s): crapper

Post by vp-reynolds4 »

If none of the dashboard switches work have you checked to see if any ae even connected? they could have been neglected by a previous owner who tried under dash repair work.
Hot_Protein
Donator
Donator
Car(s): I have a rusty shell. Made some patches. Now the welding.

Post by Hot_Protein »

The heaters never work. The motor in the blower has issues with it's brushes and the ballast resister is made of the most fragile substance known to man. If either of these are the problem then you can get replacements easy enough.
Jayman
Car(s): Ford Capri 1.6
Renault Clio 3
Jaguar XJ

Post by Jayman »

My car was the same when I got it, no interior lights worked either. I just cleaned up all the contacts and there was only the heater motor out of the lot that was actually broken.