Recommendations please for quality restoration work

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
Bobbydazzler
Car(s): Ford Capri 2.0s 1978 (Mk3)

Recommendations please for quality restoration work

Post by Bobbydazzler »

Hi, I'm thinking of a ground up body off restoration.

Can anyone recommend a decent body shop?

I'm located in West Midlands but will consider travelling to get a quality job done.

Many thanks...
Caprigear
Donator
Donator

Re: Recommendations please for quality restoration work

Post by Caprigear »

You won't get a body off restoration on a Capri as they're not built that way. A quality job isn't going to be cheap as most Capris now are hiding bodywork nightmares that will all have to be rectified properly before any paintwork is started.
I've been carrying out restoration on Capris for many years and I now have a body/paintwork guy who is top quality.
I strip down the cars then the bodyshell and panels are gently blasted to get rid of paint, filler etc then the shell is immediately primed to protect the metal.
All necessary repairs are then carried out then the shell and panels are prepared and painted.
The car then comes back to me for refitting and finishing off.
c.turff
Car(s): Ford capri mk3 1,6 laser. Daily driver ( LPG converted )

Post by c.turff »

How much do you charge for that sort of work assuming no hidden nastyness?
Caprigear
Donator
Donator

Post by Caprigear »

I never quote, it would be financial suicide. I give an estimate based on what I can see but make it crystal clear that there will be areas that will be uncovered once the bodyshell is blasted, there always is and owners tend to have a nasty habit of not telling the whole truth hoping to get the job cheaper.