Lumpy and sleepy

Please restrict your questions and replies to Capri related technical issues!
NewbieFord
Car(s): Ford capri 1.6 laser in black

Lumpy and sleepy

Post by NewbieFord »

I just changed the ht leads and i know they are on right and the reason i changed them was because the engine wasn't running at all well, cutting at traffic lights after a minute or so of sounding like it was giving up the ghost so i'm going to check the spark plugs themselves to see what condition they are in but thats tomorrows job i have a video but no sound weirdly but you should be able to see the smoke coming out and on the piece of cardoboard whats coming out. to me the white smoke could indicate head gasket failure but i check the oil cap and its fine, jet black
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-9Pkv8MRDM
no sound btw but any thoughts, very strong smell of petrol as well btw if that helps explain anything so maybe something stuck in the system left unburnt? i dunno i'm an amateur =D
Insurance wise for an 18 year old it was the Capri.... or the 1.0 fiesta. I chose the loud, shouty car instead =D
nigecapri
Car(s): Black 2.0S with supercharged bike carbs.

Re: Lumpy and sleepy

Post by nigecapri »

Petrol smell indicates a miss-fire or too rich mixture.
Check the points / condenser - just renew them if in doubt, get the ignition timing checked with a strobe light then have a mechy check the emissions with a gas analyser and adjust if needed.
Next on thelist is to check valve clearances and adjust if needed and have a compression test done to check condition of rings / valve seats.
Click photo below for a read up on points / contact breakers (sorry -no info there on your carb, Ford VV type )
NewbieFord

Post by NewbieFord »

nigecapri wrote:Petrol smell indicates a miss-fire or too rich mixture.